About the Court


About the

In the Texas court system there are two types of courts, trial courts and appellate courts. The appellate courts of Texas consist of fourteen courts of appeals and the Texas Supreme Court and the Court of Criminal Appeals. In most instances, before a case can be appealed to the Texas Supreme Court or the Court of Criminal Appeals, it must be heard by a court of appeals.

The Fourth Court of Appeals is an intermediate appellate court with jurisdiction over both civil and criminal cases appealed from lower courts in its district. The Court hears civil cases where judgment rendered exceeds $100, other civil proceedings as provided by law, and all criminal cases except post-conviction writs of habeas corpus and cases where the death penalty has been imposed. The Court is comprised of seven justices with six-year terms.

The Court hears cases from the following 32 counties in South Texas and the Texas Hill Country. If you are registered to vote in one of these counties you can vote for the justices on the Fourth Court of Appeals.

  • Atascosa
  • Bandera
  • Bexar
  • Brooks
  • Dimmit
  • Duval
  • Edwards
  • Frio
  • Gillespie
  • Guadalupe
  • Jim Hogg
  • Jim Wells
  • Karnes
  • Kendall
  • Kerr
  • Kimble
  • Kinney
  • La Salle
  • Mason
  • Maverick
  • McMullen
  • Medina
  • Menard
  • Real
  • Starr
  • Sutton
  • Uvalde
  • Val Verde
  • Webb
  • Wilson
  • Zapata
  • Zavala